In My Mailbox (CofE)

inmymailbox

A friend-of-a-friend told my friend who told me and I told another of my friends and… Well, eventually there was a whole slew of us checking out the sale at Chapters last week. One of the other bookaholics pointed out a dystopian novel by Joey Graceffa called “Children of Eden” that she thought sounded good. I checked it out and knew I had to read it!

I couldn’t afford to buy it as I’d already planned to purchase five other novels already, plus it was a hardcover when I prefer paperbacks (less painful when you fall asleep reading and the book smacks you in the face). Then, when I happened to see the local library had it? Naturally I was all grabby-hands and snagged it!

img_20170212_110231

What would you do to survive if your very existence were illegal?

Rowan is a second child in a world where population control measures make her marked for death. Outside of Eden, animals and most plants have been destroyed by a man-made catastrophe. Long ago, the brilliant scientist Aaron Al-Baz saved a pocket of civilization by designing the EcoPanopticon. Humans will wait for thousands of years in Eden until the EcoPan heals the world.

Rowan has been hidden away in her family’s compound for sixteen years. Now, restless and desperate to see the world, she recklessly escapes for what she swears will be only one night of adventure. Though she finds an exotic world, and even a friend, the night leads to tragedy. Soon Rowan becomes a renegade on the run.

signature

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

