Pop goes Bookstagram

screen-shot-2017-02-17-at-7-32-22-pm(photo credit to Marie Landry aka sweetmarie_83)

Have any of you been on instagram and seen all the fabulous posts by bookstagrammers? These people take photos of various books in various settings and various placements with the end result of appearing like the pix were taken by professional photographers.

Booklover that I am, the idea appealed. Naturally I thought to take part in some book-themed photo challenges to join this fabulous community, but given my travelling I didn’t have much by the way of stuff to put in my pictures. Once I got home there was a lot of knickknacks about, but I still couldn’t quite get the aesthetic others are capable of. I just didn’t have the knack for it (just ask my friend Marie who saw proof I’m singularly bad at it) and am all the more impressed by those who do.

If you have been checking out some of the same accounts I have, then you’ve noticed all the Funko Pops. They are these vinyl figurines of book/movie characters that look absolutely adorable and make those of us without them drool. In my envy I thought that if I had some Funkos myself then my photos would vastly improve… though this may have been an attempt at justifying the purchase of what is essentially a “plastic toy” any logical adult would know better than to fork over hard-earned cash to buy.

The top of my wish list has the Winchester brothers from Supernatural as I’m absolutely obsessed with the show. Other fans who just discovered Funko Pops will know my pain of trying to find Sam, Dean, and a trench-coated Castiel with or without wings. I lucked out in locating a website that sells the wee dollies and managed to snag a Dean and Charlie, but the other two have eluded me.

I went to the mall with Marie not long ago and we searched all the stores potentially selling the bobbley things. With HMV closing, that was our first stop hoping for a killer sale price on anything, and I came away with Lorelei and Rory from Gilmore Girls. A stop at our second store got me a fabulous sale on Cher and Dionne from Clueless (both for the price of one!), and a third shop had Audrey Hepburn looking fantastic in her Breakfast at Tiffanies attire. Somehow I left that day with five Funkos and I’m awaiting two in the mail.

Unboxed and on display among my books now I think… why? Why did I spend so much money on something that will just collect dust? I still do plan to use them in any instagram photos I can, but I can’t help but wonder if it was worth the price. I love my wee Funko Pops, and even have Audrey beside me on the desk, but are they really just toys I’ll soon tire of and wish I saved my money for something else—like more books?

What do you think about this fad, will it last? Do you have any Funko Pops yourself? Which ones and where do you keep them? Do you think them completely worth having or do you regret wasting your money?

signature

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

