#LOVEATHON: MINI CHALLENGE 7 – SING YOU A SONG

The Love-a-Thon is hosted by Alexa of Alexa Loves Books, Cee of The Novel Hermit, Kristin of Super Space Chick, and Mel of The Daily Prophecy. Follow along on social media using the hashtag #LoveaThon

Now’s the time to let your musical tastes shine! Dedicate a love song (or two or three) to your favorite book characters, and tell us why. Get as creative as you want, whether you decide to film a video, share a playlist or write out some lyrics and snap a photo.

This past year I participated in NaNaWriMo and was trying to write a novel inspired by my recent trip to Bath. Normally I don’t listen to music when I write as I’m prone to singing along, but I had a wretched bout of writer’s block and no choice but to find some inspiration. I searched the internet for songs that would fit my characters’ personalities or important scenes. By the time I had my musical list finished I was ready to write again.

Here are the songs that kept me going until my story was finished:

Miss Invisible – Marie Digby
Enchanted – Taylor Swift
Best Friends Forever – Lego Friends
Narcissist – The420Four
Everybody’s Got Somebody but Me – Hunter Hayes ft Jason Mraz
Lips Are Movin – Meghan Trainor
Roar – Katy Perry
Falling for You – Colbie Caillat
Wishing and Hoping – My Best Friends Wedding
Worth It – Fifth Harmony
Perfect – One Direction
Come Away With Me – Nora Jones
Life is Rosy – Jess Penner
Beautiful – Drew Seeley
I Do Adore – Mindy Gledhill
Everything has Changed – Taylor Swift ft Ed Sheeran
Comeback Kid – The Band Perry
I Can’t Smile Without You – Maria Aragon
Toxic – Britney Spears
What Goes Around – Justin Timberlake
Story of Us – Taylor Swift
If I Let You Go – West Life
All About Your Heart – Mindy Gledhill
Firefly – Ed Sheeran

If you want to listen to my playlist, go here –> Katie <3s Tillney YouTube Playlist 

 

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

2 thoughts on “#LOVEATHON: MINI CHALLENGE 7 – SING YOU A SONG”

  1. I like your take on this challenge! I’ve been stuck on my NaNoWriMo novel, too, and think I may need to give your tactic a try. 🙂

    Like

    1. Choosing songs makes you really analyze your characters/scenes, gets your creativity flowing, and distracts you so your subconscious mind can work on whatever issue that caused you to get stuck to begin with. Sketching layouts of the town or housing floorplans is another trick I use… which also helps me keep myself from getting confused as I’ve no sense of direction even within my own imagination!

      Like

Leave a Reply

