#LOVEATHON: MINI CHALLENGE 5 – book meets screen

The Love-a-Thon is hosted by Alexa of Alexa Loves Books, Cee of The Novel Hermit, Kristin of Super Space Chick, and Mel of The Daily Prophecy. Follow along on social media using the hashtag #LoveaThon

This challenge is made for you to combine the books and movies/tv shows that you love in some way, in order for other people to find new recommendations for things to check out. Whether inspired by characters or themes, we can’t wait to see what you come up with!

20170218_2357222I didn’t have cable growing up, so I didn’t watch a lot of television from the time I was ten until four or five years ago. However one of the shows I did watch was Joan of Arcadia during that time of lacking. I loved how it was about a teenage girl who talked to God (sometimes played by a rather cute teenage boy) and is asked to do certain things that eventually helped other people. Both of the novels I’ve paired with this short-lived tv series have angels as the mmc.

20170218_14445522While watching shows wasn’t really a thing in my childhood, classic movies were something my mum and I shared. Among others viewed sporadically, we annually watch Easter Parade with Judy Garland and Fred Astaire as well as White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye. It’s because of my mum that I love all those old musicals and, especially, any movie with Audrey Hepburn in it. Audrey is so graceful and such an amazing person that I’m okay with the fact she cannot sing. I recently purchased a funko of Audrey from her role in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, which movie is based on a book by Truman Capote.

20170218_2350183Another movie tradition is that every summer during my teen years I would go to my Nana’s cottage to hang out with my cousins. It was three sisters and all their grandkids, meaning there were around a dozen of us running around and crashing for the night wherever we happened to be.  At some point between the swimming and baseball and playing of sardines, Whitney and I would watch Anne of Green Gables. I’d never seen or read it before my redhead relative got me hooked! Other movie adaptations I enjoy are based on novels by of Nicholas Sparks, and I particularly love the one starring Ryan Gosling. Be sure to read the books before watching the movies!

20170218_2347002As you may have noticed yesterday, Dean Winchester is the absolute love of tv-watching heart. Just ask my friends, and they’ll tell you I’m obsessed! The second runner up is Big Bang Theory, which I started watching after people kept telling me how much I looked like Bernadette. I even had a stranger come up to me in the loo to say so! I have no idea what books I might match with that show, but I’ve paired my nearly completed collection of SPN dvds with Alexadra Adornetto’s Halo series. I’ve just gotten all three books of the series into my possession and they are awaiting me in my TBR pile . The reason why I picked these books despite not having read them yet is because *spoiler* both Winchester brothers have been the Heaven and Hades.

With the revival of Gilmore Girls, I finally got around to watching all the episodes in a massive binge-watch. I thought about attempting to read all of Rory’s reading list, but I’m not that crazy! A couple of the books are already in my TBR, but I read a few others in university. My faves thus far are Shakespeare, The Awakening, and anything by Jane Austen novels. I recently picked up some GG funkos, but I need to get Sookie and I want there to be a Luke! My friend Marie (@sweetmarie_83 on instagram) is also hooked on the show, so I recently attempted to crochet a Luke’s Diner logo thingie as a birthday prezzie. So watch the show, then read as many books from Rory’s list that you can 🙂

20170218_2059022

The one place I want to go more than anywhere in the world, and have wanted this for over half my life, is Ireland. I did a wee wander over there while I was in the UK, and I nearly cried when I had to leave as I loved it so much. On my list of things to do is the Matchmaking Festival in Lisdoonvarna, which I first learned about from The Matchmaker. I’d pair this movie “Ring of Claddagh” by Annabel Murray, “Emerald’s Desire” by Paula Munier Lee with Leap Year, and “Fire on the Wind by Linda Crew” with Evelyn.

 

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

2 thoughts on “#LOVEATHON: MINI CHALLENGE 5 – book meets screen”

Leave a Reply

