#LOVEATHON: MINI CHALLENGE 2 – Hobbies

The Love-a-Thon is hosted by Alexa of Alexa Loves Books, Cee of The Novel Hermit, Kristin of Super Space Chick, and Mel of The Daily Prophecy. Follow along on social media using the hashtag #LoveaThon

We all love books, but there are other things we’re passionate about too! All you’ve got to do is mash-up a non-bookish hobby/passion/talent/fandom with your bookish life. Do it through photos, collages, or videos. Get as creative as you’d like to!

20170218_2040032

What you may not know about me is that not only did I do my post-graduate studies in publishing (with a focus on editing), but I also did a college program for creative writing. I have kept a journal since I was little, and my best friend and I write snail mail to each other (Who doesn’t love letters?). I sometimes try my hand at scriptwriting and NaNoWriMo, but that is mostly for fun. Someday I may look into being published or produced…

20170218_1438192Acting, singing, dancing… I love it! I cannot say I’m good at it–in fact I get stage fright when I have to sing and it takes me a long time to learn choreography. My favourite character I’ve played is Cecily from “The Importance of Being Earnest”, but I’ve also been in “The Story of Harmalodia” (based on the Rheostatics album), “Heartbeats” (a one act play), Sue Yaeger in “South Pacific”, and finally Little Red Riding Hood in “Into the Woods.” I tried to talk the director into cutting my solo, but sadly he wouldn’t. As much as I love ballet and have taken three years of classes, I am no better than when I started!

20170218_14352623If anyone has checked out my instagram (@JaiKaies) then you will noticed that I spend nearly as much time crocheting as I do reading. My aunt taught me as a child, my nana taught me again as a teen, but I never really got into it until university when a friend got me started again. I usually make afghans or pillows, but sometimes I try my hand at things like book covers, sloths, not-quite-magic wands, created a pattern of the infinity gauntlet for a friend, and even made my own non-dancing Baby Groot.

20170218_1502532My fascination with the British Isles might explain my obsession with redheads and royals. Seriously, put a crown on it and you’ve got my attention. A cute ginger with a sense of humour and/or a great voice? I’m drooling. I was able to see the royal family twice during my stay in the UK, which was one of my goals. I wasn’t too far from the Queen at ascot, and I sort-of saw the entire royal family at Buckingham Palace… but, sadly, I was so far away they mostly just looked like dots on the balcony. I must admit I would love to hang out with Prince Harry for a day!

I love to travel, and spent the past two years living in the United Kingdom. Most of my time was spent in London, but Bath was my favourite… I did three trips to the spa town, one of which for for the Jane Austen Festival.  I also went to Scotland, as some of my ancestors are from there, which might explain my love of tartan and kilts. I did a short foray to Wales for my Dr Who loving friends, and up to Northern Ireland specifically for Giant’s Causeway. Because April in Paris is a thing both myself and Doris Day must do, I went there over my Easter break. Ooohlala!

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

4 thoughts on “#LOVEATHON: MINI CHALLENGE 2 – Hobbies”

    1. The British Isles are amazing and an absolute must *happy sigh* I have no backstage skills; I can’t paint or sew, and I keep tripping on various props and set pieces…Safer for everyone if I stay on the stage *L0L*

      Like

  1. I never been to Bath, but it’s on my bucket list, I have a thing for UK and London is my home away from home 🙂 Have you watched The Crown? It’s a Netflix series about the Royal Family, it was so good that I binge-watched it with my mom!

    Like

    1. I lived in London for most of my two years in the UK, but Bath gave me the “home” vibe. I haven’t seen The Crown yet, as my bff and I are going to watch it together once we finish Supernatural. I am definitely a binge-watcher myself 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

