2017 Love-A-Thon: Introduction

The Love-a-Thon is hosted by Alexa of Alexa Loves Books, Cee of The Novel Hermit, Kristin of Super Space Chick, and Mel of The Daily Prophecy). Follow along on social media using the hashtag #LoveaThon

I can hardly believe I almost forgot about the love-a-thon! My friend Marie mentioned it a couple weeks ago, but before I could check it out life happened… Okay, reading books happened. What can you expect from a booklover? I’ve recently returned both to Ontario, Canada and the bookblogger world after a hiatus in the United Kingdom. If you want to know more about me, check out my answers to the intro questions our hosts asked!

Tell us your history with reading. Were you always a reader? Were you a reluctant reader? Was there a book that convinced you to become a reader?

I don’t remember ever not reading. Mum used to read to me before I can even remember, and I loved it so much I wanted to read too. I learned how to read easy books by the time I started Kindergarten.

How did you get involved in the online book community?

I did my post-graduate studies in book and magazine publishing, and somehow connected to a bookblogger chat that year. I was reluctant to start blogging as I was busy with school, but they convinced me it would be worth it J

How did you choose your primary platform (blog, Instagram, YouTube, etc)? How did you come up with your blog name?

At the time I had only just learned of bookbloggers and, having been a blogger for years, it seemed logical to go that route. I hadn’t even heard of instagram yet! My bookblog name was actually discussed during a chat, and one of the other members was the one to come up with it for me.

What’s your favorite thing about the online book community?

Meeting so many people who love books as much as I do, and learning about novels I may not have heard about otherwise. Plus, interacting with authors and promoting their work is amazing.

What sort of posts can readers expect from you?

I try to do one book review per week, and I also do a lot of weekly memes on my blog. It has been brought to my attention some of the memes from before my hiatus are no longer really used, but maybe by using them they’ll be a thing again *L0L* I’m just starting to get into bookstagramming, but I do a lot of random pictures from my life on instagram as well.

FAVORITES

Food? Beverage? I’m known for my love of Froot Loops and chocolate milk… though not together.

Color? Lilac, but also pink, aqua, sunshine yellow, and turquoise,

Things to do apart from reading? Amateur theatre, dancing (badly), singing (usually Christmas carols and show tunes), crocheting, movies/tv, writing…

TV shows? Supernatural! But also Agents of Shield, Shadowhunters, Fuller House, etc

Musical artists? Current obsession is Ed Sheeran and Taylor Swift, but I still love 90s pop.

Places to shop? The bookstore of course!

BOOK TALK

Favorite child books? I know I had a fair few Disney storybooks, namely Cinderella. After that it was Babysitters Club and Sweet Valley High.

Favorite books I read in the last year?  Such a difficult question, but the most memorable would be “Me Before You” by JoJo Moyes and “The Problem with Forever” by Jennifer L Armentrout.

Underrated book, series, author you love? I have yet to find anyone else who has read “Fire on the Wind” by Linda Crew, “The Only Alien on the Planet” by Kristen D Randle, “Emerald’s Desire” by Paula Munier Lee, and “Meyers’ Creek” by Connie Brummel Crook.

Book boyfriend? Book BFF? Book family? The love of my life is Mr Tilney from Jane Austen’s “Northanger Abbey”, but Jennifer L Armentrout’s Daemon Black is right up there. Being best friends with Katie MacAlister’s Aisling Grey would certainly make life interesting. And thus far my fave book families are Julia Quinn’s Bridgertons and the Weasleys from “Harry Potter”

Books you want to read in 2017?  “Famous” by Jilly Gagnon, “The Royal We” by Heather Cocks & Jessica Morgan, “Children of Eden” by Joey Graceffa, “Famous in Love” by Rebecca Serle, “The Queen of Blood” by Sarah Beth Durst, anything by Jennifer L Armentrout, whatever Marie Landry writes next, and… everything!

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

One thought on “2017 Love-A-Thon: Introduction”

Leave a Reply

