Book Boyfriends Flirt Better

Screen shot 2017-02-06 at 11.58.00 PM.png

I was at the mall the other day with a friend, and we were on the hunt for Supernatural Funkos (any other Supernatural TV show fans out there?). While the sales rep was waiting for his computer to do a stock check to see if there might be a couple Winchesters available, he said I must love England. I looked down at myself, seeing that my scarf covered my Platform 9 3/4s Tshirt and wondered how he came to that conclusion. Apparently it was due to the Union Jack earrings I had forgotten I put on earlier. Naturally, I then mentioned I just got back from living abroad in the UK and we started chatting.

Then this other guy jumped into our conversation to ask about his own potential trip to London in the near future. I answered his questions and gave suggestions, wanting to be helpful to my fellow wanderer, but thought nothing of it. After a few minutes, the random guy said he had to go and asked for my info in case he had more questions. I am not one to give out my number to strangers, so I gave him my name so he could shoot me a pm on fb as I didn’t want to seem completely rude by saying no.

When Marie and I left the store, purposefully heading in the opposite direction of the random guy, she started laughing. Marie said the guy had been hitting on me, as he talked only to me without ever once looking at her. I know she was standing just behind me, making it hard for me to do more than occasionally glance over my shoulder at her, but didn’t realize the guy had been completely ignoring her. If that is true, if he was making a play, I honestly didn’t even notice.

To me the guy just wanted a bit of help planning a trip, but when we checked out his fb page it said he was from Wales…which is, y’know, right next to England. Considering the only possible explanation I could up with as to why a Welshman would ask for travel tips in the UK is if he lied on his social media profile and isn’t actually from Wales. Other than that, it is possible that Marie’s theory did have some small merit. The guy’s accent was rather neutral, so we couldn’t even use that to give us a clue.

I always get an inkling when I think a character in a book is going to become a love interest practically before they even say a word. With every page I read my mind tends to race ahead, coming up with plausible scenarios that could lead from the current moment. More often than not I can guess events what will follow, so you would think I’d have a firm grasp on the intricacies of human interaction. Sadly, this does not appear to be the case if that guy was, in fact, flirting with me.

Am I just so used to well-written banter that a less-than-witty conversation leaves me clueless as to a male’s regard? I can send secret messages with the flutter of a fan, but I cannot seem to grasp when a guy is making eyes at me. I am entirely certain I would have clued in had it been Mister Tilney, Daemon Black, or Gilbert Blythe (Okay, almost certain). So why is it that I find fictional boys can flirt so much better than real boys?

I suppose it is entirely possible I am better with reading between the lines when it comes to words on paper than in real-time conversation. Or perhaps it may be because the author is female and we tend to think in a more similar way than males and females might. Then again, the problem could lie in the fact that these males are not ones who interest me; I am sure there is a greater chance of my noticing a man I’m attracted to who is flirting than there is of my taking note of one who doesn’t appeal.

Does this happen to anyone else, not knowing when someone is hitting on you? Or do you think the cause is something outside of your own level of understanding? Do you think fictional boys flirt so much better than real boys?

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

