In My Mailbox (PwF)

 

inmymailbox

On this past Thursday I went to the local bookstore for a Harry Potter event with my friend Marie (whom you might know as Ramblings of a Daydreamer). While she and a store rep gave some amazing suggestions for what I should buy, I left with only one book. I wasn’t quite sure how much money I had left of my store gift card and I was flat broke otherwise. However, I’ll tell you about that purchase another day!

The most important thing in my “mailbox” right now is a book by the same author, but one I picked up from the library. I could have bought it at the store, sure, but it’s a hardcover. Now a lot of you probably don’t understand why I try to avoid those like the plague. One reason is the obvious expense, but the other got me laughed at by my author friend. You see, I tend to fidget a lot when I read. Sit up, lie down, right side, left side… and I often fall asleep with a book in my hand. This is where hardcovers are a problem: they are heavy. Not just when you’re trying to hold them up, but when you doze off and they fall down. On your head. Startling you awake and leaving you with a bruise and/or bump on your noggin.

If no one has guessed yet just what author I would risk my life for, what the book I acquired from the library is, then I will tell you. None other than Jennifer L Armentrout’s “The Problem with Forever”. So the fact it is a hardcover explains why I did not buy this book YET, though I undoubtedly will. I love this author to absolute pieces and simply couldn’t wait for the paperback version to become available, so that I might add it to my collection.

Do you prefer hardcover books or paperbacks? Do you prefer sitting or lying down when you read?

signature

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

