Unfamiliar Past

It is a bit strange to be blogging again after being gone from this world for so long, but also comforting too. When I arrived back in Canada after two years abroad I was hit with reverse culture shock pretty bad. Everything that had been so normal growing up now felt off-kilter and essentially sent me into hiding… Okay, part of that is due to how cold and snowy it is and I was really hibernating with a book or twenty.

Eventually my moving boxes arrived and among my things were a handful of written book reviews I meant to type for posting, but forgot about. It made me want to blog again, to rejoin the real world and give my life some structure. Without a job I’ve been drifting and this would be the perfect solution until I manage to acquire a nine-to-five.

Slowly posting, I have been going into my blog archive to familiarize myself with, well, my past blogger self. I wanted to read what I had written in the past to see how I feel about various topics now and find my voice again.

What I found was a bunch of books I don’t remember reading! It sounds horrible to say, having read so many great novels, but I started reviewing six years ago and at around two-hundred books a year… Can you really expect me to easily recall a thousand or more books?

I remember a lot of them—the ones I own, are by my favourite authors, are part of a series, are from my favourite publishing companies— but the single title stories by authors I’d never heard of before or again? Those have been lost in the mental cavern of my mind.

Skimming what I’d written of these books makes me want to read most of them again. There are a few I’ll take my own advice for and not read, too. Yet all in all, this trek down memory lane has been interesting.

Do you ever look back to old posts and reviews on your own blog or other bloggers’ sites? How does it make you feel to read what you’ve written in the past? Have you changed much over the years?

Let me know in the comments below!

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

