Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green

Will Grayson, Will Grayson almost didn’t get read, but I decided that if you read one you must read them all… and I am glad I did, as this became my favourite of all the books (thus far). It’s about a chance meeting between two teenage boys who have the exact same name and how that meeting leaves an impact on each other’s lives.

I admit that I didn’t always love the characters; in fact I’m not sure I truly liked a single one of them in this book or any of the other novels, yet that is so true to life. You don’t always like everything about everyone, even if they are your best friends. Instead it is more like you grow used to their flaws and accept them, love the person despite their flaws. In the end I realize that I don’t have to like the characters in order to like the book itself.

Levithan’s portion of the book was written in lower-case, something I didn’t like at first but eventually got used to. I like the idea behind the chosen writing style to depict that Will’s perspective, though it didn’t make it any less annoying while reading it. The reason why I preferred Green’s writing (besides the proper use of grammar and punctuation) is that his characters, by comparison, had far more depth and layers… though perhaps I’ve confused who wrote what!

The funny thing is though that neither of the Will Graysons is truly the main character of the book, even though the story is told of the perspectives of these two boys. Instead it is Tiny Cooper: the biggest, gayest, most loveable character in the whole book. He feels the most developed, most three-dimensional being out of everyone, and even when he drives you crazy you kind of wish he was real and you could go see his musical. I don’t understand it, but there is something about flamboyantly gay males that is irresistible to women.

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

