The Cowboy’s Mail Order Bride by Carolyn Brown

I made a vow that I would not get out any library books until I finished reading all the books I own still yet unread… Well, that didn’t happen. I was out at our local waterfront festival when a friend decided we should stop at the library on our way home. I couldn’t just sit there and do nothing–who could when surrounded by books?—so I went hunting for a novel or two of my own.

Now our library doesn’t get new books very often due to it being such a small town with a small budget, and having lived here for years I naturally have read most of the older novels that interested me. Now I just look for the ones with the least amount of wear showing on their spines when I don’t feel like putting much effort into finding a book.

I managed to find half a dozen novels that I hadn’t seen before and got them out. I haven’t really felt like reading historicals, westerns, about military men,  Scottish clans, or anything like that; my current kick has been straightforward contemporary romances…but guess what a lot of the new books were about? *sigh*

The thing is, I can never resist men in kilts, gentlemanly manners, cute cowboys, or men in uniform. The plots all sounded decent, so I told myself I’d probably like the booksif I would just crack open the cover and get started reading… Let’s just say I didn’t have overly high hopes of getting enthralled by any of my choices.

The first book I picked up is by Carolyn Brown. I don’t know if I’d read anything else of hers off hand, so I wasn’t prejudging due to that. No, it was the title that made me hesitate. It said: “The Cowboy’s Mail Order Bride”. I really wasn’t feeling into the whole western scene with shoot-em-ups and mail order brides are from an era of the past, so it had two counts against it before I even started.

However, while the novel does take place on a ranch, it was set in the present. Emily, the main character, had been asked by her dying grandfather to deliver some letters to a girl he used to write while he was in the war. They had planned to marry, yet never did. So upon delivering the letters Emily met not only his grandfather’s old love, but also Clarice’s grandson Greg (along with a few other interesting characters).

I ended up absolutely loving this book! I couldn’t resist telling you about it even though I didn’t feel like doing my usual review on it before I return the book to the library. I didn’t want the analyzing of it to take away from my enjoyment of story, which does sometimes happen. This book made me laugh, made me sniffle, and made my heave many wistfully romantic sighs.

The thing I liked best was that not only did Clarice and Marvin write love letters to each other, but so did Emily and Greg. There really is just something about a good ol’ handwritten letter that makes you smile. I know I enjoy exchanging letters with my BFF who lives on the other side of the provence, but the thought of a man taking the time to write? It’s swoon-worthy!

There is also a note from the author I simply cannot resist sharing a bit of it with you in hope to persuade you to read this book yourself. It seems Carolyn also wrote a guy in the army. Her best-friend was dating an enlisted boy who sent her a photo of himself and some of his troop, and Carolyn chose one of those men to write to herself. After a year or so, her chosen soldier proposed to her and…

Well, you’ll have to just get the book yourself to know what happens for both the characters and the author! I refuse to say anymore about the book, so I will only tell you that you should read it. Even if you aren’t the hopeless romantic I am, it does give some good ideas as to how to romance your significant other 😉

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

