Meeting Kelley Armstrong: Part Three

A couple of weeks ago my local library was having Kelley Armstrong come in to talk about her new books, do a Q&A session, and sign a lot of books! I took notes (nerd that I am) and have created this six part series in order to share what I learned with you.

KAjennahNow KA has two new series started.  The Cainsville series had its first book published this past summer, Omens. It’s about Olivia, a twenty-four year old, who finds out she’s adopted and her birthparents were serial killers. This series will have a bit of the mystical, but more the portents and second-sight type of stuff rather than paranormal creatures, and is based on a Welsh myth.

When teaching a workshop, KA found out that one of her students was working on a story rooted in the same Welsh myth that Omens is based on. KA had already finished writing it and was awaiting publication, and had to tell her student about it. There is sometimes the fear between students and teachers in writing classes that someone will think the other stole their idea.

KA has attended and taught writing workshops, and one of her stories came out of one due to a lot of new writers worry about originality and not copying other authors’ ideas. She said you really don’t need to focus on that because your own voice, your plot choices, your characters, and all that you do will make your story different.

The book Four Summoner’s Tales was written by four different authors who were given the same premise: A stranger comes to town offering to raise the townsfolk’s dearly departed from the dead for a price…  but had four very different results  (description taken from Goodreads, but I’m pretty sure it was also what KA had told us today verbatim).

The other new series that is in the works is called Age of Legends. This is an epic fantasy rooted in medieval Japanese culture. Its first book is called “Sea of Shadows” and will be coming out April 2014… though one lucky reader got an advanced copy!

signature

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

2 thoughts on “Meeting Kelley Armstrong: Part Three”

  1. First of all I would like to say wonderful blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not
    mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing.

    I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like
    the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or tips? Appreciate it!

    Like

    1. I’m terribly afraid I’m one of those people who tends have so many words running around in my head that I just have to get them out. I don’t normally decide to write, but rather rush to find something to write on when I have something to say. I guess the only advice I can give is to not worry about where to start writing, but rather to write whatever is on your mind as it comes to you. That way you get your thoughts on paper and you can always edit it later!

      Like

Leave a Reply

