What’s in a Name?

Do you ever read a book then look at the title and think: huh?

That happened to me earlier this week. Well, to be honest I don’t think I even looked at the title when I picked up the book to read it, merely chose it because of the synopsis on the back. Yet when I went to put the novel on my list of books read I did a double take, as there was no way the title fit the book.

The story line was about a widow/single mother falling in love again, but the title… it was pure teen romance. If someone had told me that title and I’d known nothing of the novel, I would have thought it was Young Adult or perhaps of the latest genre New Adult. It just gave an instant connotation of young love.

I know sometimes it is the author who picks the title and sometimes it is the publishing company (see The Writing Life‘s peak into title selection), but I do not comprehend how anyone could think that title was fitting for this book. It is almost like it was accidentally assigned to the novel, as though there had been a mix-up of files, and the title was actually meant to be on a different story. There could be a paperback out there, a young romantic tale of someone’s first time falling in love sporting a title like “Their New Beginning” or “A Second Chance at Love” or some such.

Has that ever happened to you? You read a book and wonder what the heck were they thinking when it came to the title?

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

