Childhood Books Revisited

I cannot quite recall how it happened, but I think I somehow came across the movie at the library quite by accident. The title sounded vaguely familiar, so I read the back and discovered that the film was based on a book series I had read when I was younger. One Christmas my grandmother had given me two books from the series, the fifth and the eighth, and though I read them I wasn’t too impressed –this might have something to do with the fact I hate reading books out of order or that it wasn’t the genre I preferred at that age. Even though it was a juvenile movie I borrowed it from the library anyways due to sheer curiosity.

While it was definitely “indie” I quite liked the film, for all the odd camera work and obvious lack of funding. I hadn’t read the particular book the movie was based on, so I got the first five books from the online library. Yes, though I own the fifth book it is buried in boxes in the basement and I wasn’t up to looking for them when I could just get volume 1 of the collection as an ebook.

I don’t think this has ever happened, but the scriptwriter’s changes made for a better plot than the book actually had *gasp* I was ever so disappointed by the novel not living up to the expectation the film created –the plot was far more lackluster and the writing style wasn’t at all impressive. As we all know, books usually surpass the movie adaptions in likability…

Nevertheless, I persevered and continued to read the second novel. It wasn’t much better but did show improvement, so I read the third and fourth and fifth… by then I was hooked. I reserved all the books I could find at the local library –the ebook library not having any others– and I just cannot stop reading them. There is one of the series that I would very much like to read but cannot find anywhere, not even the bookstore. I am ever so tempted to ask friends in other towns if their ebook library selection has it and borrow their card number so I can read that novel!

I now want to buy all the books so I shall have the series and can pass them on to my (future) daughter. And as often happens when you reread a childhood novel, you discover things you hadn’t noticed before. One of those things that really stood out to me was something that the main character always said whenever she was afraid –since she constantly got into scrapes involving kidnappers, collapsing mines, being lost in the woods, etc it was often– and that is a verse from the Bible:

“What time I am afraid, I will put my trust in thee.”

Many of us put so much of our own thought and effort into things that we don’t realize we should consider asking for help. Doing so doesn’t make us weak or dependent or incapable, just smart enough to acknowledge that sometimes we need a bit of assistance. This could be to God or our best friend or even a coworker… We just have to start having a bit of trust.

Have you recently read any books from your childhood that have touched you in a new or different way than when you read it years ago?

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

