Writerly Questions with Avery Olive

As I promised in the post with Avery Olive’s Guest Post, I am now sharing with you a few questions that will give an additional peak into the world of writers. Instead of learning the lingo as we already saw, this time Avery lets us see into her own little world as a writer. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us, Avery! 

Be sure to check out other bloggers who are taking part in A Stiff Kiss tour (published by Crescent Moon Press) which you can find out more about here

How would you summarize your book in one sentence?A reverse sleeping beauty with twists.

How long did it take you to write this book?I spent three months (on and off) writing A Stiff Kiss, and another 3 months polishing it.

How many drafts do you go through?
 Hmm. I’d say it went through about five, two of those were all me, editing and then I sent it off to a few beta’s and let them pick it apart.

When do you write best: in the morning, afternoon, or at night? So far, I write best a night. Mostly because the demands of being a stay at home mom allow little time to write during the day. I stay up late, and live on probably far too little sleep.

Where is your favorite place to write?I have an office, it’s constantly cluttered, but it’s my own space, where I can sit back, listen to music and get things done.

Typewriter, laptop, or pen & paper?I have me a baby laptop. It’s small, it fits into my purse. But I also pretty much always have a pen and paper within reach, just in case I don’t have my computer.

What do you drink or eat while you write?I drink coffee when I need an energy boost. And I also chew copious amounts of gum.

Do you listen to music while you write? If so, what kind? Yes, I do. Though I don’t have a specific variety. My iPhone holds a bit of everything from 60’s tunes, to classic rock, to Top 40 Hit’s, to a little country. They only thing that isn’t on there, classical—That puts me to sleep.

What do you wear when you write? Whatever I happen to be wearing when I decide to write. Could be the days outfit, a comfy pair of PJ’s and fuzzy socks, a towel if I’ve hopped out of the shower brimming with inspiration..

How do you plot? Chapter by chapter or an overall synopsis? Do you use detailed outlines? Plot? Outlines? What’s that? I’m a pantser baby. I jot down a simple burb type paragraph and run with it. The only thing that’s get’s more attention are my characters—I do a detailed description and trait outline for them.

How do you decide which narrative point of view to write from?This is a tougher one. I usually just start writing. Eventually somewhere usually about 5 chapters in, I can tell if I’m on the right track. If it feels wrong, or I’m not able to express enough of what’s happening I switch POV’s. Though, I must admit I am rather fond of First Person Present Tense. Which I’m sure has some of you out there in cyber-land cringing. But if you can pull it off, it works

How do you choose your characters’ names?Baby name books, or a list of names that I add to every time I hear something I like. Last names I usually make symbolic, either on a personal level or that has something to do with the story-line and characters

Who is the first person who gets to read your manuscript?Usually it’s my bestest writerly friend, Mr. Steven W. He’s stuck with me over the years, I love what he says, and since he’s awesome, he also almost always ends up teaching me something

What did you do immediately after hearing that you were being published for the very first time? I didn’t do anything. I think I was in shock. And then I went about life pretty much the same, just a little lighter on my feet. I did decide then to come out of the closest and tell people I’d been writing novels for the last few years and that now I was going to be published. My friends and family were just as shocked to hear that, as I was when I got contract offers for my novel A Stiff Kiss

What is the first book you remember reading?The Balloon Tree by Phoebe Gilman. I remember taking it out of my elementary library over and over again. It’s also still around and quite popular, not long ago they came out with a very nice Anniversary Edition

Do you have a guilty pleasure read?No! But man I should! I did for a bit go through a Twilight Fanfiction phase. So at the time, that was sort of it. I’ve since moved passed that. I might need to pick up another one, though

How do you organize your library/book collection? Well, I currently abuse my books by piling them into boxes. They don’t like it, I hear them whimper every time I add another to the pile, or close up the box and start a new one. I don’t have book shelves. And at least they have other books to play within the boxes. One day Mr. Olive and I will have a library of our own

Did you always want to be a writer?For a lot of years the thought never crossed my mind. I used to write poetry, so I’d always had a passion for words. But when it came to actually thinking about it, I always thought it was a dream that was unattainable

If you could talk to any writer living or dead who would it be, and what would you ask/talk about?Edgar Allan Poe. I’d wonder if he was really as messed up as history says he was, and well, how he wrote such amazingly, dark words

If you could be any character from any book, who would you be? I honestly don’t know. Perhaps, Princess Buttercup from the Princess Bride. I’ve always loved that book (and the movie) and having someone say “As you wish,” to everything, well that’s just hot

What is the best gift someone could give a writer? Peace and Quiet. Okay, I’d say a laptop, honestly you can get so much done with it, keep things organized, do research on the web, network… I honestly don’t know where I’d be without mine

What is the best advice someone could give a writer? Keep writing and don’t give up. Every day more and more people are finding their way through the maze that is the writing world, so it’s not out of your reach if you want it bad enough

What is one random thing most people don’t know about you? I have two different sized feet. And I’m not talking like a little difference, it’s more than a full shoe size difference, so I can never find heels that work.

 Previous Interviews: JLA Interview, Guest Post Avery Olive

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

One thought on “Writerly Questions with Avery Olive”

  1. Two different sized feet? Ugh. That would suck. Sorry. But it does make you unique! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

Leave a Reply

