Guest Post by Nancy Volkers

Nancy Volkers is the author of “A Scottish Ferry Tale” and ” Scotland by Starlight“. She is currently doing an author blog tour hosted by Chick Lit Plus to promote her book. I decided that I would like to do a week of posts revolving around her novel, and Nancy graciously wrote a guest post for my blog after very little begging on my part. Thank you, Nancy!

Thanks so much to Jaime-Kristal for reviewing Scotland by Starlight and allowing me to write a post for her blog! I thought I would talk a bit about self-publishing, or publishing on demand. I have considered myself a writer for the past thirty-five years or so, and as a child I could have never imagined the worlds that have been opened to authors through the Internet.

Publishing through an agent still appeals to me, and I may try that route in the future. But I chose self-publishing for several reasons, all of which still ring true for me:

It’s free. You can spend hundrends or even thousands of dollars, if you want to -but you don’t have to. CreateSpace costs an author nothing, if he or she is willing to take care of all the editing, proofing, formatting, front and back covers, and all those other “extras” that some companies will do for an author at a price.

It’s flexible. Do you want to change your back cover after a couple of months? Did you find a typo on pave 243 the day after you published your book? Upload a fresh file, and your book is fixed within days. The flexibility that self-publishing gives is wonderful. It wasn’t possible in the past when you’d have 25oo copies of your new novel printed and then discover that you spelled the hero’s name wrong in three different places and used “it’s” instead of “its”.

It’s autonomous. Call me a control freak if you wish *wink* But when you publish your own work, no one is going to ask you to make your book more “marketable” by changing the ending, or cutting a couple pages out of chapter three, or rewriting the subplot with the crazy llama-raising neighbour.

I’ve heard authors say that the validation of having a publisher accept a manuscript, short story, or poem is worth the time and effort. And it is nice to know that someone else appreciates your writing, particularily someone “in the business” who reads hundreds of manuscripts each year. However, I’m all right without that validation. I write to make connections with readers. Mass-market publishing is certainly one way to do that, but it’s not the only way.

Even if a publishing house accepts a manuscript, seeing the book in print can take months, or sometimes years. in 2012, there’s no reason for that. it’s easier than ever to make your writing available to readers and get their feedback. and who knows -you might attract the attention of a publisher while you’re doing it.

~Nancy

 Previous Posts: A Scottish Ferry TaleGuest Nancy VolkersIMM,  Teaser Tuesday, WWW.

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

One thought on “Guest Post by Nancy Volkers”

Leave a Reply

