NaNoWriMo Wk2

Well, NaNoWriMo started off fairly strong and I made some great new writing buddies. On Friday, I actually met up with one of the people I had been chatting with so we could start co-planning a Nano EY meet-up as there weren’t any already arranged in our neighbourhood.

PK and I had a great afternoon wandering around and talking about books -our own nano projects and our favourite published ones. PK had a great idea for my story, but I wasn’t quite sure how to make it work until Saturday night when a bunch of us Nano-ers decided to have word wars to see who can type the most in a specified amount of time. I managed to acquire 15,000 words in total by 3am Sunday morning.

Trying to juggle Nano, editing work, and a life is difficult to say the least. Now I know why people gear up, stock up, and prepare like their lives depend on it… and it does. Nano takes over your life! It is like your entire brain is taken hostage and during every little thing that occurs, you think ‘will that work in my story somehow?’

I guess it is kind of like the sci-fi/fantasy novel The Host, where an alien race called ‘souls’  take over earth and use humans as a body-host, submersing the human’s will. NaNoWriMo has taken over the world and has everybody writing!

My story has taken a drastic leap from where I started, as some of my very minor characters just became the main characters. I have not yet decided whether to scrap my first idea or somehow weave them together, but I still have three weeks and 30,000 words to find out!

Happy Writing!

 Previous Posts: NaNoWriMo.wk1

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

