NaNoWriMo

Well, Tuesday was the beginning of National Novel Writing Month.  I had never heard of the event prior to last year when a classmate who was taking part started talking about it, but by then NaNoWriMo was nearly over. I don’t know why no one back home knew about it or, if they did, failed to tell me about it, but this year I decided I was going to give it a try.

I have a couple story ideas bouncing around in my brain -nothing unusual about that!- but haven’t yet settled on just which one to focus on. For the time being I decided to just count whatever words I write for either project and hope by the deadline I actually get one of them finished.

And that is exactly why I am doing NaNoWriMo this year. It is because I hardly ever finish any of my works in progress and I would really like to finally say “I wrote a novel”. The problem isn’t a lack of discipline (okay, it kind of is), but more that I always get a bright new idea and am so inspired I simply must pause my current project to get my thoughts for the new WiP down… and rarely go back.

So that is my goal, to write a complete first draft of a novel. Have any of you signed up for NaNoWriMo this year?

 Previous Posts: Guest Lisa BeckerKiddie QueryEditorsJLA Interview

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

Leave a Reply

