Book Request Form (June-1)

I have mentioned before that one of my jobs is to order books that are being requested for review. There is no uniform way to ask for a book, but I sometimes wish there was because it would make ordering books a bit more efficient.

So I thought I would help all you bloggers and that innocent intern who is inundated with emails by making a guideline to follow should you so desire. If you were ever unsure about what to say when making a book request for your blog, here is a general idea you can copy.

Anything in bold is what you could write verbatim, what is in italics I am using my own name and blog, but basically making up the rest as that is where you would put in your own information.

Be sure to notice where I put line breaks!

–      –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –

Hi Perfect Publishers,

My name is Jaime-Kristal and I write the blog Tales of a Book Lover. My blog focusses on  fiction of any genre and I would really like to review the following book(s) because I believe it will interest my readership.

“Telling Tales”
Wadda Lyer
Paperback
Perfection (if the company has imprints/brands)
June 7, 2011
(on sale date)
ISBN #

OR if you are asking for three or more books you can use this format:

“Telling Tales”, Wadda Lyer, Paperback, Perfection, Aug 7 2011, ISBN #
“Freedom”, Will Wallace, Hardcover, Scots Yard, May 1 2011, ISBN# 
“Cheesy Romance”, Ima Luver , Trade Fiction, Harts, Feb 14,  ISBN# 

My address is as follows:
Jaime-Kristal
Tales of a Book Lover
135 Library Lane
Suite ❤
Toronto, Ontario
L0L 0L0
Canada

Thank you!
Jaime-Kristal

–      –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –     –

See how easy that is? Oh, and making your blog’s name a linkable web addy is always good, or just include the web address immediately after the name of your blog or after your name at the bottom of the email.

I hope what I’ve learned, helps you be better bloggers!

Previous Posts: Random House InternFirst Week as Intern,First Month as InternPulitzer & Champagne

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

One thought on “Book Request Form (June-1)”

Leave a Reply

