Random House Intern

I start my internship today!

Needless to say, I am excited yet totally freaking out with nerves *L0L* I will be at Random House Canada with the publicity department. Can you believe my luck?

I plan to write about it after I am done for the day, so stay tuned…

UPDATE:

I planned to reach Random House fifteen minutes early, but I just barely made it on time. The buses were so crowded that three passed by before I could get on one, and after transferring to the streetcar we were rerouted due to an accident.

Once I arrived at Random House I was shown to my very own cubicle, then given a tour. The layout is a little confusing at first, but I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it. I already know the way from my “office” to the copy room very well! *L0L*

I basically spent the morning with my boss learning how to do some things, had lunch in a courtyard I found by accident, and then my computer was set up with log-ins by the time I returned. The afternoon was spent going through emails, filling out requests, etc.  I found out that I may be helping with an event this month, and doing more on my own later,  so that should be a lot of fun!

I learned that my internship will be until the end of July plus, other than this week and maybe next week, we’ll be doing “summer hours”. This means that I will get Friday afternoons off! And, since Lucia asked: Yes, I really lucked out because I will get a small honourarium when I complete the three-month term.

Everyone I’ve met thus far seems really nice and I think I will enjoy working with them.

Previous Posts: House of RandomInternship Interview

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

7 thoughts on “Random House Intern”

      1. Dear Jaimekristal,
        Congratulations on your internship! Hope it ended as good as it started. I’d love to apply for an internship at Random House Canada, but can’t find any information on it 😦 Would you be so kind as to tell me how you applied or send me a link? That would be great!
        Many thanks!

        Like

      2. I applied through my school program of Book & Magazine Publishing at Centennial College. I would suggest calling RHC to ask about the internship program and how to apply. They will most likely put you in touch with the HR department and give you an email address to send your resume to… Their internships are great and last about three months, so you learn a lot!

        Like

  1. I realize that this blog was written a year ago, but I found it while Googling internships. I am very interested in editing/publishing. I was thinking of getting an English degree first, but I have been out of high school a while (I’m 22 years old) and I heard that, for many editing jobs, you do not need a degree. I see that you wrote that you went into Book & Magazine Publishing at Centennial College, what do you think is better for a career in publishing? A college diploma or a university degree? I am hoping on not going back to school for another 4 years before I even start a job. Also, do you suggest waiting on the internship before going back to school, or start right away and see if I can get an internship? Would they even consider people for internships before they get any education? (Even though, it’s probably already too late for me, if they start in May :/)
    Thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. I took Centennial College’s Post-Grad B&M program as I already had BA hons. If it makes you feel better, I was twenty-seven at the time! I believe CC has a B&M program that doesn’t require a degree, but I really couldn’t say if one is better than the other. I loved this school/program though, and I definitely recommend it over other schools. I will tell you that editing positions are few and far between, because so many people want to work in that department. It is a bit competitive, and you’ll need as much experience as you can.

      As for an internship, you can try at any time -though some publishing companies only take students who require it for their program. Internships are always running, I know that Random house takes four throughout the year. Other companies have shorter or longer internships, many lasting only six weeks. The more internships you do, the more experience you get and more connections you make.

      Like

Leave a Reply

