Internship Update

As most of you already know, I am in the Book and Magazine Publishing program in college. I received my Bachelor of Arts with Honours and a Creative Writing Certificate prior to this, but I wanted just one last year to “specialize”.

In order to graduate from my current program I need a minimum of six weeks at an internship. I had contacted Harlequin over a year ago, the moment I was accepted into the program, inquiring to the company about possibly working there in an editorial capacity.

A year ago I planned to become an acquisitions editor at Harlequin someday. Later, I learned they don’t have a specific department just for acquisitions and adjusted my expectations to being just an editor, possibly with Steeple Hill or Luna or their new Teen line.

In my last couple months of classes I began to learn more about publicity. I often was given that portion of group assignments due to being more creatively-inclined. When I visited Random House on a “field trip” (see  House of Random), the publicity department  sounded like a lot of fun.

I ended up applying for two internships: Harlequin’s editorial position and Random House in the publicity department. I have the most experience with editorial, but publicity would potentially have a lot more interaction with people. I decided that getting Harlequin would put a dream to rest if I needed to, while Random House would be the chance to try something new to see if it was a good fit for me.

I couldn’t decide which internship I wanted more, but the decision was taken out of my hands.  I found out about two weeks ago that I did not get the Harlequin internship, but the very same day I was asked for an interview at Random House. I had my inquisition -i mean, “meeting”-  with two members of the publicity team (see  Internship Interview) and thought it went rather well, but decided not to get my hopes up.

I was told I would not be contacted until later in the week, possibly not until after Easter, with the decision. To my surprise the very next day I had an email from my contact at Random House. The letter said that they were “thrilled to be able to offer the position of publicity intern.”

So there you have it. My year long quest for an internship has been successful, though not what I expected. I am rather excited, possibly more so that I would have been to get the editorial position I planned on because it will be unchartered territory for me.

Perhaps someday I will work in some capacity for Harlequin or perhaps not. Perhaps I will get a job at Random House after interning with them or perhaps not. Who knows where I will end up? For all anyone can guess, I could start up a literary agency in a cute little Irish cottage!

Previous Blogs:  Truth about Book BloggersMaking a DifferenceYA Evolution RevelationHow to Publicize a Book

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

3 thoughts on “Internship Update”

  1. Congrats!!! I would definitely apply again for Harlequin after your internship with Random House. You’ll have a better shot at it since you’ll have experience by then. 🙂 In the mean time, I hope you have fun at Random House.

    Like

Leave a Reply

