Book Review: Dark Flame by Alyson Noel

Warning: May Contain Spoilers

Synopsis: Haven is on a serious power trip and Ever is going into a downward spiral thanks to magic-gone-wrong. Unwilling to tell the twins and unable to tell Damen, Ever turns to Jude but it isn’t long before even he isn’t someone she feels she can trust. Ever is fighting to stay attached to Damen, disinterested in Jude, and away from Roman.

Writing: As I’ve mentioned before, Alyson has skills when it comes to sentence structure, but she also has a tendency to repeat catchy expressions throughout her books. Each books seems to have its own “latest” phrase, so you see it a few times in that particular novel but never again.

Pacing: An aggravation with this book is its jumpiness. It seemed like when you finished one section or chapter, you couldn’t always expect the next logical (to me) occurrence. Rather the moment would be bypassed and the scene-that-wasn’t might be talked about in passing if you were lucky. It left me feeling like something was missing at certain points in the novel.

Getting Answers: Thankfully at least half my questions from the previous book were answered. Some questions were left unfulfilled but I suspect a few more will be answered in the fifth and sixth books of The Immortals series.

DIY: You will have noticed that there is a lot of meditation in each of these books. It makes me curious if the author tends to meditate herself… Meditation seemed to help Ever so I thought why not give it a go? If you’re going to do it yourself, I recommend not while in the middle of a good book as it practically put me to sleep!

Quote: My feelings for you are not conditional. I don’t judge you. I don’t lose patience with you. I don’t punish you. I just love you. That’s all. Pure and simple.

The Verdict: The books just keep getting better and better, I didn’t even notice I read the whole day until it was too dark to see the pages.

Do you know the repetitive phrase to be found in each novel? Do you ever meditate or have tried meditation? Has it worked for you?

 

 

Previous Reviews: EvermoreBlue MoonShadowland

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

1 thought on “Book Review: Dark Flame by Alyson Noel”

Leave a Reply

