Books In My Mailbox (Mar-3)


This meme is hosted by The Story Siren

I hope y’all saw yesterdays post of what made me smile this past week! We had two really great guest speakers in class Friday who gave me free books and I said I wasn’t going to tell anyone about them until today!

From Harper Collins Canada I received The Ladies’ Lending Library by Janice Kulyk Keefer and Mr Chartwell by Rebecca Hunt.

Notice that Ladies’ Lending Library on the left  has the same width of the trade paperback, but is the height of a mass market paperback. It is this new size that Harper Collins has come out with, and it’s kind of intriguing. I cannot decide whether I like it because it is shorter than trade, or not quite like it as it seems floppier than a mass market *L0L*

Mr Chartwell is just the most adorably huge dog, and I like this cover much more than the other covers available. Speaking of dogs, HCC also has another really cute book called The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein which may or may not have been optioned to be a movie starring Patrick Dempsey… just saying.

And from Simon and Schuster Canada I was given Wildfire by Karsten Knight, Wither by Lauren DeStafano, and Exit the Actress by Priya Parmar.

Exit the Actress is already available, but it has this really interesting cover that is half photography and half drawing. Apparently this book is also really big in reading groups and Phillipa Gregory seems to like it.

Wither is a gorgeous hardcover and is releasing later this month. I know a fair few of you have already received an ARC and have had me green with envy! I practically ran to the front of the class to snag it as I wanted to ensure I would be the one to get it… needless to say some classmates laughed at me because they prefer literary novels to YA for some unfathomable reason.

Wildfire is an ARC and the book will not be on sale until around July or so. I wasn’t going to pick it up because I had already run to snag Wither, but our guest speaker suggested it to me after I mentioned I had a blog (I mentioned it because the lecture mentioned book review bloggers, see tomorrow’s post for more details).

BTW, check out S&S Pulse It page for their YA website. It looks a whole lot more interesting than their main page and I’m not even a young adult anymore!

What’s in your mailbox?

 

 

Previous IMM: Feb-1Feb-2Feb-3Feb-4Feb-5Mar-1Mar-2

Author: JaimeKristal

JaimeKristal is a freelance editor and writer. She started her book review blog "Tales of a Booklover" for the enjoyment of sharing her love of reading.

4 thoughts on “Books In My Mailbox (Mar-3)”

Leave a Reply

